Several MMOC members gather on the banks of the Muddy River across from Simmons University. Join us at our next monthly meeting!

Photo: Kyle Klein

Meet the MMOC

Membership in the MMOC is at the discretion of the Massachusetts Secretary of Energy and Environmental Affairs.

Voting Members include six members of the original MEPA Citizens Advisory Council, as well as representatives of six local river advocacy organizations. Non-voting ex officio members of the MMOC include representatives of town, city, and state public agencies. Non-member consultants serve on MMOC subcommittees.


Chair: Frances Allou Gershwin

Treasurer: Kelly Brilliant

Staff: Matthew Eddy

Voting MembersRepresentative
Charles River Watershed AssociationLisa Kumpf
Charlesgate AllianceH. Parker James
Emerald Necklace ConservancyKaren Mauney-Brodek
The Fenway AllianceKelly Brilliant (MMOC Treasurer)
Medical Academic Scientific and Community Organization (MASCO)Janice Henderson 
MEPA Muddy River Restoration Project Citizens Advisory Committee (Muddy River CAC)
Muddy River CACFrances Allou Gershwin (MMOC Chair)
Muddy River CACElisabeth Cianciola
Muddy River CACArleyn Levee
Muddy River CACKay Mathew
Muddy River CACFredericka Veikley
Muddy River Restoration Project Technical Advisory CommitteeJack Malone 
Ex Officio Members
Boston Parks and Recreation DepartmentRyan Woods, Commissioner
Tom Timmons, Contract Compliance Manager
Brookline Department of Public WorksErin Chute Gallantine, Commissioner
Brookline Parks and Open Space DivisionAlexandra Vecchio, Director
Tom Brady, Conservation Administrator
Brookline Preservation CommissionElton Elperin, Commission Chair
Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR)Patrice Kish, Chief of Planning and Engineering
Massachusetts Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs (EOEEA)Kurt Gaertner, Assistant Secretary for Environmental Policy


Each subcommittee assists the MMOC by focusing on a specific goal of the Restoration Project. These include:

  • Communications and public outreach
  • Long-term maintenance and management of the parks’ landscape and parkways
  • Water quality improvement and stormwater management
  • Historic preservation.

Subcommittee members include both MMOC members (shown with an *asterisk) and non-MMOC members. The Chair of the MMOC is an ad hoc member of all subcommittees.

Communications Subcommittee

*Kelly Brilliant

*Kay Mathew

Betsy Shure Gross

Carol Lasky

Historic Resources Subcommittee

*Arleyn Levee

*Elton Elperin

Patrice Kish

Landscape Maintenance Subcommittee

*Arleyn Levee

*Fredericka Veikley

Margaret Pokorny

Marion Pressley

Carroll Williamson

Water Quality Subcommittee

*Elisabeth Cianciola: Co-chair

*Lisa Kumpf: Co-chair

*Elton Elperin

Michael Berger

Caroline Reeves

Members of the public are invited to attend MMOC meetings, which take place on the second Wednesday of each month from 6-7:30 pm.

Due to ongoing concerns about COVID-19, all meetings will be held by video conference until further notice.

Contact for more information.